Giving to Black Hawk College

Black Hawk College has a longstanding tradition of excellence. The Hall of Fame recognizes outstanding individuals for their professional and community service, including such notable graduates as Unit ed States Representative Lane Evans; Rose Vasquez, Diversity Analyst at Principal Financial Group; Robert Ontiveros, Chairman and Founder, Group O; and nationally recognized Chad Pregracke, founder Living Lands and Waters.

Members are selected using two fundamental critiera: 1) Outstanding distinction and success in chosen field; 2) Humanitarian service which has proven beneficial to society. (Nominees must have at 30 college credit hours or more at Black Hawk College).

Nominate an Alumnus. Simply complete our online nomination form.

Hall of Fame Members


Dr. Stewart Adams

James D. Albracht

Monty Dolieslager

U.S. Representative Lane Evans*

Reggie Freeman

Michael L. Grcha*

Gordon Greer

Perry Hansen

Lt. Cmdr. David Hebdon

Vera Hinrichsen

Rick John

Richard Kauzlarich

Lee Lohman

Virgil Mayberry

Allen R. McCaulley

Rick McGrath

Dan McNeil

Brent McRae

Margarita Mojica

Steven L. Nelson

Patricia O’Conor

Robert Ontiveros

R. Dale Owen

Jewell Perkins

Alan Perley*

Chad Pregracke

Thomas A. Rexdale

Dr. Jeanne Roller

Scott Schaefer

Dr. James Sears

John A. Slover, Jr.

Tim Stout

John A. Tacker

John Thodos

Linnea E. Thompson

Steve VanDeWalle

Rose Vasquez

Bob Vogelbaugh

Recent Inductees



BHC Hall of DFame Inductee

R. Dale Owen

Dale graduated from Black Hawk College with a Certificate in Banking and Finance and an Associate of Applied Science in Banking and Fina nce. He received his undergraduate degree from Augustana and a Masters in Public Administration from Drake University. Dale has been with Ascentra Credit Union in Bettendorf since 2000. He was Chief Lending Officer for several years. Currently Dale is Ascentra’s President and Chief Executive Officer.

BHC Hall of DFame Inductee

Margarita Mojica

Margarita studied elementary education and graduated with an As sociate in Arts, being the first member of her family to graduate fr om college. She continued her studies at Western Illinois University, earning both a Bachelor of Science degree in bilingual education and a Masters in Education. An educator for many years, Margarita is known thr oughout East Moline School District 37 as being supportive of all ar eas of the District. She founded and coordinates the One by One program at Glenview Middle School, which supports students interested in becoming the first in their families to go to college.

BHC Hall of DFame Inductee

John Thodos

John studied liberal arts and graduated in 1983 with an Associate in Arts. He then attended St. Ambrose University and earned a Bachelor of Arts in Business and Economics. After a successful career as real estate agent and developer, John became active with the city of East Moline. He served as alderman from 1995 to 2003, as mayor from 2005 to 2017, and assumed the role of City Administrator while concurrently serving as mayor. John currently serves as the United States Army Reserve Ambassador to Illinois, which oversees the scholarship program for Army Reserve students in Illinois who are attending a 2-year or 4-year college or university.



Ways to support Black Hawk College

There are numerous ways to support Black Hawk College. If you have other ideas in mind, please contact us.